the train stops here...

this stop
that stop
conductor
notes
design
host
reviews

11.10.2003
17:51

BEGINNING OF RANT

I'm never going to get used to this valet parking thingy. No way. Every night when I return to the lovely Doubletree Hotel I have someone park my car. This is not because I am lazy [I'm not saying that I'm not lazy, just that this is not the reason I don't park my car myself]. Then every morning some nice guy goes into the underground parking lot and fetches my car.

Every time someone either gets my car or takes my car I give them a tip. So far I have been holding steady with the standard $2 tip. I have no idea how much you are supposed to tip valets. No clue. So $2 it is.

That's $4 a freaking day. That's quite a bit for a girl who frequently finds herself digging in the crevices of the couch to find change for a burrito for dinner. How many times have I eaten out of the vending machine [a.k.a - 'wheel of death'] instead of buying a meal because I was too broke? Here I am shelling out $4 a day for parking.

What a lousy thing to complain about, I know. But this valet parking bit has me very concerned. I worry about being a fair tipper. I worry about the manner in which I hand over the $2. I don't want to act magnaminous, it's only $2.

I have spent quite a bit of time worrying about this. I know that valet parking is considered an amenity, a bonus - if you will. But it does me little good.

Also, the blooming laundry service doesn't do me any good. For the amount I pay for my skivvies I don't want to pay someone else to wash them. Perhaps if I had high quality clothes and socks and bits, then I might consider farming out the laundry duties to someone else... Just this once.

Instead I have to go hunting for a laundromat. I have the soap all bought and have staked out my location. All plans were set for tonight. However, I forgot my freaking book at the hotel. I'm not sitting in a laundromat without a book...

The reasoning for that is another story. It's not pleasant either. However, I don't want to go into it now. I try not to work myself up too much before my forty minute commute. [I guess I'm already worked up.] That's right, 40 minutes!!!! I love the hotel where I'm staying but there are definitely mornings when I would stay in the Barg-Inn Motel just so that I could get another half hour or so of shut eye.

END OF RANT



before & after

a bit ago
Holy Jeez! An Update - 03.09.2004
The Beginning of the Long Goodbye - 01.28.2004
The Scrooge at the Station - 12.11.2003
Bismarck and Back - 12.01.2003
Happy Friggin' Thanksgiving - 11.26.2003