the train stops here...

this stop
that stop
conductor
notes
design
host
reviews

11.04.2003
16:26

I would admit to getting lost more than the average person. I will openly admit that my sense of direction is horrid and that I get lost going to places that I've been many times (even going to work).

Here in Miami this tendency for getting lost has gotten more than a little bit out of hand. To put it in plain English: I am lost more than I am found.

Finding the Hotel
The car rental company had called my hotel to let them know that I was on my way. This wasn't so great because it took me about 1.5 hours to find the hotel... which is horrible when it should have taken .15 hours. I was greeted with "So you're the girl who got lost!" when I checked in.

Finding the Outsourcer Site
leaving the hotel with an 1+ to find work I thought that I would be fine. I did not take into account that even with a straight shot that I'm likely to take turns just for the sake of using gas. I arrived about 45 minutes later than I planned, which turned out okay because the class had to meet with HR for another three hours.

Going Back To The Hotel
Last night I planned on going to Target to pick up credit applications to have for my class as reference material. Then I gave up on that and decided to just drive to the hotel where I could walk to get some food. Even with the subtraction of one of my destinations I still got very lost... so much so that I am dreading my return tonight.

Getting To Work Today
Since I made it to the site on Monday I thought that I could hack it today. I left the hotel with about 45 minutes to make a 20 minute drive. I was anticipating traffic. I should have anticipated that I have no bloody clue how to find anything! If you don't believe that last statement then read this...

Finding the Training Room
To me the building that I'm training in is one big mess. I guess that this place used to be a Sam's Club so you can imagine how big it is. All the rooms look the same and the only real way to tell them apart is by looking for the seasonal decorations that they have up. When they changed over from Halloween to Thanksgiving decorations yesterday while I was in class that posed a serious problem. I had to ask for directions two times to find the PC that I was using.

So I ask you, what are the hopes that I will find the hotel and a nice place with Chines takeaway? I'm not going to hold my breath...



before & after

a bit ago
Holy Jeez! An Update - 03.09.2004
The Beginning of the Long Goodbye - 01.28.2004
The Scrooge at the Station - 12.11.2003
Bismarck and Back - 12.01.2003
Happy Friggin' Thanksgiving - 11.26.2003