the train stops here...

this stop
that stop
conductor
notes
design
host
reviews

10.28.2003
19:20

Unfortunately, there are a few too many songs that deal with Memphis or Tennessee... Oh yes there are. I'm trying to focus on them instead of "Miami' by Will Smith... which you may recall appeared on Big Willie Style along with "Gettin' Jiggy Wit It".

Maybe that's something that you were trying not to recall that little ditty. Sorry 'bout dat.

Memphis Songs That Will Wash 'Miami' From Your Brain
[can't promise that these will be any better...]

'Memphis' by Chuck Berry:
"She's the only one who'd phone me here from Memphis Tennessee"
'Stuck Inside Of Mobile With The Memphis Blues Again' by Bob Dylan
"And the ladies treat me kindly And furnish me with tape"
'Walking In Memphis' by Marc Cohn
"Saw the ghost of Elvis On Union Avenue"
'Graceland' by Paul Simon
"Poorboys and Pilgrims with families, And we are going to Graceland"
'City of New Orleans' by Arlo Guthrie
"Night-time on the City of New Orleans, changing cars in Memphis, Tennessee halfway home, we'll be there by morning through the Mississippi darkness rollin' down to the sea."
'Tennessee Stud' by Johnny Cash
"Me and a gambler, we couldn't agree We got in a fight over Tennessee "
'Tennessee' by Shawn Colvin
"I saw somebody standin', in a field with a crutch. Behind his rich southern daddy, with a Midas touch"
'Alphabet Street' by Prince
"I'm gonna put her in the back seat and drive her 2...Tennessee"

Think that I'm going to end my little list there. Just let me know if I should be missing anything big... I'm more than a bit sure that I am. It's a shame, a crying shame.



before & after

a bit ago
Holy Jeez! An Update - 03.09.2004
The Beginning of the Long Goodbye - 01.28.2004
The Scrooge at the Station - 12.11.2003
Bismarck and Back - 12.01.2003
Happy Friggin' Thanksgiving - 11.26.2003